The business and affairs of the Australian Turf Club (ATC) Limited are decided upon by a Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors is appointed for a term of three or four years and meets once a month or more often if deemed necessary. These meetings are also attended by the Executive as required. Members of the Board of Directors also sit on various committees which meet on a regular basis. They include matters relating to Audit, Risk and Compliance, Finance and Wagering, Remuneration, Property Development and Membership and Racing.

Board of Directors

Matthew McGrath

Chairman, GAICD

  • Appointed to the Board
    1 February 2015
  • Director Australis Communications
  • Director Makachla Pty Ltd
  • Thoroughbred racehorse owner over past 5 years
  • Member of Finance and Wagering Committee

Julia Ritchie

Vice Chair

  • Elected to the Board 1 February 2015
  • Former Director NSW Racehorse Owners Association
  • Former Director of the Australian Jockey Club Limited
  • Thoroughbred breeder and racehorse owner for over 30 years
  • Owner and Director of Wild Oaks and Oak Ridge Spelling & Agistment farms
  • Owner and Director of J. Robins Manufacturing Pty Ltd
  • Chair of Membership, Owners and Race Day Experience Committee
  • Member of Audit Committee

Trish Egan

Director, GAICD

  • Appointed to the Board 1 February 2015
  • Vice Chair of the Board of the company from 19 September 2016
  • Chief Operating Officer, Diabetes NSW & ACT
  • Trustee, Racing NSW Equine Welfare Fund
  • Thoroughbred racehorse owner
  • Director, White Ribbon Australia
  • Chair of Remuneration Committee
  • Chair of Risk and Compliance Committee

Bill Evans

Honorary Treasurer

  • Appointed to the Board 25 February 2014
  • Chief Economist, Westpac Banking Corporation
  • Former Chairman Australian Business Economists; Life Member
  • Chairman of Audit Committee

Phil Morley

Director, MAICD

  • Appointed to the Board 20 May 2016
  • Thoroughbred racehorse owner for over 20 years
  • Member of Remuneration Committee
  • Member of Membership, Owners and Race Day Experience Committee
  • Head of Merchandise – Metcash Limited
  • Former Director of the NSW Racehorse Owners Association
  • Former Chairman of Lenard’s Group Holdings
  • Former Director of Meat & Livestock Australia
  • Former Director of Aus-Meat Limited

Angela Belle McSweeney

Director, GAICD

  • Elected to the Board 1 February 2017
  • Third generation racing family and lifelong racegoer
  • Owner of over 50 thoroughbred racehorses over many years
  • Managing Director, Angela Belle McSweeney Communications, consulting for 30 years in business strategy, public relations,marketing, promotions and event management
  • Marketing Consultant to racing industry for over 25 years
  • Vice President, The Black & White Committee for Vision Australia since 2012
  • Winner, NSW Racehorse Owners Association Trophy for “The single person making the greatest contribution to NSW Racing” (1991)
  • Member of Membership, Owners and Race Day Experience Committee

Connect With Us
Subscribe To Our Newsletter